Tourism destinations



The municipality belongs to Cuadrilla de Añana and is located in the western area of Alava, west of Vitoria. The River Bayas flows through the municipality and Gibijo Mountain and Arkamo and Badaia Mountain Ranges surround it. The municipality of Kuartango is made up of 20 villages and Zuhatzu-Kuartango is the main administrative town.


Privileged natural environment

The whole valley forms a privileged and very rich natural landscape. We will begin our journey in the sanctuary of Nuestra Señora de Escolumbe, close to Katadiano. And, later on, we will head for the four dolmens of Katadiano, where human remains where found. Likewise, we should visit the hermitage of the Santísima Trinidad, located in a beautiful spot next to Guillarte/Guillena, followed by Casa Troncal del Solar de Urbina, in Urbina de Basabe.


Next, we will approach Jokano to enjoy the pre-historic sites in Solacueva de Lacozmonte Caves, with cave paintings. To finish, we will have a rest in Zuhatzu-Kuartango, which keeps the old spa building near the river.

Information of interest

Surface area
84.40 Km
No. of inhabitants