Tourism destinations


Ribera Baja/Erriberabeitia

The municipality of Ribera Baja-Erriberabeitia is located in the historical territory of Alava and belongs to the Cuadrilla de Añana. The River Bayas flows down the region and even if its orography is mild, there are little mountains such as Campas, Quintanilla and Montería.


Little population centres quite far from each other form the municipality's structure, as in many valleys of the territory. To be more specific, 6 villages form Ribera Baja-Erriberabeitia and the capital is Ribavellosa. We will begin our trip in Melledes, where we will visit the church of San Juan. Once arrived in Manzanos we will notice the peculiar division marked by the railway. In the same municipality and following the Camino Real, we will get to the church of San Juan Bautista, with a beautiful Romanic large window. From there we will head for Igay, relevant because of its many prehistoric sites. Once in Quintanilla, we can have a view of the lands bathed by the rivers Bayas and Zadorra. The main building of the municipality is without doubt the parish church of San Esteban, dating back to the 17th century.


Our trip finishes in the municipality's capital, Ribavellosa, which houses the majority of the public services offered in Ribera Baja-Erriberabeitia. In its urban area some interesting buildings are worth visiting: the parish church of Nuestra Señora del Rosario, from the 15th century, and the Saenz de Santamaría Palace. Finally, we'll arrive in Rivagurda, where the parish church of the Asunción de Nuestra Señora prevails.

Information of interest

Surface area
27.70 Km
No. of inhabitants