Basque Country




2023 Tour de France

  • Stadtrat von Bilbao
  • Tour de France

2023 Tour de France

The 110th edition of the Tour de France will be on Basque roads on 1st, 2nd and 3rd July.


The Grand Départ Pays Basque 2023 will set out from Bilbao on 1st July and will pass along roads in Álava, Bizkaia and Gipuzkoa provinces in a total of 3 stages.

1. Bilbao – Bilbao stage (185km): This will start out from the Guggenheim museum in a circular stage entirely within Bizkaia province, taking in landscapes on the Basque coastline like the Urdaibai Biosphere Reserve. This first stage will be highly demanding, with a hard final climb to the finishing line.


2. Vitoria-Gasteiz – San Sebastián stage (210km): This will set out from Vitoria-Gasteiz to go to San Sebastián. After visiting part of Álava and Gipuzkoa provinces, riders will come up against a final climb up to Jaizkibel, as in the San Sebastián classic but going the other way, though just as hard.


3. Amorebieta-Etxano stage: This sets out from Amorebieta-Etxano and after doing 80 kilometres along the Basque coast and crossing San Sebastián and Irun, it will hit the roads of Lapurdi, the Basque region north of the French border.

Associated documents

Special offers

Special offers

Information of interest

Date: 01/07/2023 - 03/07/2023