Art & Culture

Cultural Heritage

Hermitage of San Esteban

The hermitage of San Esteban is located in the boundary of Oñati on the way to Arantzazu in Lezesarri neighbourhood. Almost in front of the Memorial to the Basque Shepherd by Nestor Basterretxea.

 

Documents show that the church was built in 1505, but visitors can appreciate important reforms dating back to the 16th and 19th centuries. The structure consists of a wide wooden covering and an ogival portal.

 

A crucifix prevails in the altar, on whose sides the images of San Crispín and San Crispiano marching in Corpus Christi procession and San Esteban's were placed. Moreover, one of the walls still keeps a copy of a bull dating back to 1738. The bull was granted in 1620 to San Crispín and San Crispiano brotherhood.

Information of interest

Type of resources
Religious buildings
Monument type

Hermitage

Address
Barrio Lezesarri - 20560 Oñati
Phone
E-mail
Artistic style
Basque Gothic
Period
16th century

Services

  • Park